2013 R&D 100 Winner
Computers process information quickly, but they perform sequentially. Because clock speeds have stalled, future performance gains come almost solely from running sets of instructions concurrently. This will force fundamental changes for all computer components, making co-design (collaborative, simultaneous development of all system components) essential. Developed by a team led by Sandia National Laboratories, Mantevo Suite 1.0 is a promising approach to co-design that features an integrated collection of small software programs, called “miniapps”, whose performance characteristics model full-scale applications, yet require only a fraction of the lines of code. This makes miniapps easier to study, design and rewrite. Mantevo miniapps are freely available software products, accessible from as C++, C and Fortran source code, along with descriptions of capabilities and instructions for compiling and running relevant test cases. The base implementations include support for: sequential execution, shared memory execution using OpenMP, distributed memory execution using MPI and mixed distributed and shared memory execution using MPI+OpenMP.


Sandia National Laboratories
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Atomic Weapons Establishment (AWE)

Development Team

The Mantevo Suite 1.0 Development Team
Michael A. Heroux, Principal Developer, Sandia National Laboratories
Richard F. Barrett, Principal Developer, Sandia National Laboratories
James M. Willenbring, Principal Developer, Sandia National Laboratories
Daniel W. Barnette, Sandia National Laboratories
David Beckingsale, Univ. of Warwick
James F. Belak, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Mike Boulton, Univ. of Bristol
Paul S. Crozier, Sandia National Laboratories
Doug W. Doerfler, Sandia National Laboratories
Harold C. Edwards, Sandia National Laboratories
Wayne Gaudin, AWE
Timothy C. Germann, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Simon Hammond, Sandia National Laboratories
Andy Herdman, AWE
Stephen Jarvis, Univ. of Warwick
Paul Lin, Sandia National Laboratories
Justin Luitjens, NVIDIA Corp.
Andrew Mallinson, Univ. of Warwick
Simon McIntosh-Smith, Univ. of Bristol
Susan M. Mniszewski, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Jamaludin Mohd-Yusof, Los Alamos National Laboratory
David F. Richards, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Christopher Sewell, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Sriram Swaminarayan, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Heidi Thronquist, Sandia National Laboratories
Christian Trott, Sandia National Laboratories
Courtenay T. Vaughan, Sandia National Laboratories
Alan B. Williams, Sandia National Laboratories